PARAĆIN

amidzin konak u kragujevcu, milosev venac, zavod za zastitu spomenika kulture kragujevac

The Building at No. 45 Branka Krsmamovića Street in Paraćin was constructed between the two world wars (around 1930) as the family home of engineer Predrag Nikolić, a co-founder and co-owner of the “Teokarević Brothers” Textile Factory.

The Nikolić House was designed by Milutin Borisavljević, a ‘French-trained’ architect whose taste was shaped by the traditions of French architecture.

As a representative building set in a park-like environment, the Nikolić House was executed in a refined academic style. The eclectic inclinations of the designer are evident in the details, including semicircular windows, garlands, vertical divisions with shallow pilasters, balusters beneath the windows and on the roof cornice, and a mansard roof. The interior space is centrally organized.

Around the central hall on the ground floor are two bedrooms, a study, a dining room, a bathroom, and a kitchen, while a wooden staircase leads to the mansard and basement. Interior details were carefully selected: tiles for the fireplace in the hall were brought from the Czech Republic, as were the wrought-iron chandeliers with crystal spheres. The walls were painted, and the ceilings featured profiled plaster moldings and rosettes on the ground floor, while the mansard had wooden ceilings.

Today, the Villa of Engineer Nikolić houses the premises of the Paraćin Cultural Center and a gallery.

THE BUILDING AT NO. 45
BRANKA KRSMANOVIĆA STREET

The Building was designated as an immovable cultural heritage – cultural monument, by the Decision of the Municipal Assembly of Paraćin, No. 011-41/84-01, dated November 27, 1984.

Copyright Cogent 2016. All Rights Reserved – Cultural Heritage Preservation Institute Kragujevac