The Sobrašice (traditional communal structures) in Trnava were built in 1873 as family dining tables in the churchyard. Of the 18 that existed when they were constructed, five that survived were restored in 1921. Four were used in 1967 to create a collective village dining hall, while one retained its appearance from the time of restoration. The wooden structural design in the form of enclosed porticos with a four-pitched roof covered with tiles, under which tables and benches are placed, has preserved the communal village dining hall.
Initially constructed for hosting and feeding the locals and their guests during major religious holidays, the Sobrašice in Trnava, transforming from family to collective village structures, reflected the process of cultural and territorial unification of the village community, particularly prominent in Šumadija during the 19th century.
Unfortunately, this valuable monument of folk architecture was demolished at the beginning of the 20th century, and new buildings were erected in its place.
SOBRAŠICE (WOODEN EAVES) IN TRNAVA
The Sobrašice in Trnava were declared a cultural monument by the Decision of the Government of the Republic of Serbia, No. 633-1167/97-15, dated April 9, 1997 (Official Gazette of the Republic of Serbia, No. 17, dated April 21, 1997).
Copyright Cogent 2016. All Rights Reserved – Cultural Heritage Preservation Institute Kragujevac